A disappearance in Fiji

£8.99

After a promising start to his police career in Hong Kong, Akal Singh has been sent to the far-flung colony of Fiji as punishment for a humiliating professional mistake. Lonely and embarrassed, he dreams of solving a big case, thereby redeeming himself and gaining permission to leave. When an indentured Indian woman goes missing from a sugarcane plantation, the inspector-general reluctantly assigns Akal the case. But as soon as Akal arrives on the plantation, he identifies several troubling inconsistencies in the plantation owners’ stories, and it seems there is more to this disappearance than meets the eye.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781804183007 Category: Tag:

Description

A charming debut historical mystery set in 1914 Fiji. Perfect for fans of Abir Mukherjee, Vaseem Khan and Sujata Massey.’AN UTTERLY CHARMING NOVEL … NILIMA RAO IS AN AUTHOR WELL WORTH DISCOVERING’ ALEXANDER MCCALL SMITH’AN EXCEPTIONALLY PROMISING DEBUT’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY STARRED REVIEW1914, Fiji: Sergeant Akal Singh would rather be anywhere than this tropical paradise – or, as he calls it, ‘this godforsaken island’. After a promising start to his police career in Hong Kong, Akal has been sent to the far-flung colony of Fiji as punishment for a humiliating professional mistake. Lonely and embarrassed, he dreams of solving a big case, thereby redeeming himself and gaining permission to leave. Otherwise, he fears he will be stuck in Fiji for ever.When an indentured Indian woman goes missing from a sugarcane plantation and Fiji’s newspapers scream ‘kidnapping’, the inspector-general reluctantly assigns Akal the case, giving him strict instructions to view this investigation as nothing more than cursory. But as soon as Akal arrives on the plantation, he identifies several troubling inconsistencies in the plantation owners’ stories, and it seems there is more to this disappearance than meets the eye . . .

Additional information

Weight 0.213 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 1.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership