Alchemy

£9.99

The new historical crime thriller, a Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

In stock

Description

The new historical crime thriller, a Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Prague, 1588.

A COURT IN TURMOIL

The court of the Holy Roman Emperor, Rudolf II, is a haven for scientists, astrologers and alchemists. The dream – to discover the philosopher’s stone and attain immortality. But now there are rumours of heresy.

A MURDERED ALCHEMIST

Giordano Bruno is sent to Prague as a spy for Elizabeth I. He arrives to find the palace in uproar – an alchemist has been murdered.

AN UNFORGIVING ENEMY

Ordered by the emperor to uncover the killer, Bruno must negotiate the jostling factions at court, as well as the religious tensions brewing in the city. And his hunt to track down a murderer soon proves as elusive as the elixir of life itself?

Praise for Alchemy

‘The clever twists and turns of Alchemy are assuredly plotted and Prague, a city in religious and political turmoil, makes for a powerful setting’ The Times

‘Over the past dozen years, S. J. Parris’s novels? have been among the most enjoyable of all historical thrillers’ Sunday Times

‘Breathless pace and acutely observed detail make for a story that confounds and surprises’ Observer

S. J. Parris’s book Alchemy was a Sunday Times bestseller w/c 03-07-2023

Additional information

Weight 0.32 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 3.2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership