Central Park West

£20.00

Federal prosecutor Nora Carleton has spent years building a case against a powerful New York mobster. She finally has a star witness: an insider whose testimony will lock the defendant away for good. But the courtroom can be an unpredictable place. While the killing of a disgraced former governor appears unconnected to the trial, the fallout from his death makes a guilty verdict hang in the balance. Desperate to stop the mobster from walking free, Nora investigates the darker side of the city to understand how everything connects. The more she uncovers, the deeper the corruption runs. There are dangerous people who will do anything to stop her from finding the truth. But Nora knows better than most that the truth is a fragile thing – especially in court.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781837932672 Category: Tags: ,

Description

‘The plot goes like a train . . . vivid and compelling’ Ian RankinOne chance to crack the case. A million ways to lose.Federal prosecutor Nora Carleton has spent years building a case against a powerful New York mobster. She finally has a star witness whose testimony will lock the defendant away for good.But the courtroom is an unpredictable place. While the killing of a disgraced former governor appears unconnected to the trial, the fallout from his death means a guilty verdict hangs in the balance. Desperate to stop the mobster walking free, Nora investigates the darker side of the city to find out how everything connects. The more she uncovers, the deeper the corruption runs. And Nora knows better than most that the truth is a fragile thing – especially in court.Drawing on James Comey’s thirty years in federal law enforcement, Central Park West is a fast-paced thriller, bursting with tension and authenticity – perfect for fans of John Grisham.Reviews for Central Park West‘A great read. Brimming with been-there-done-that authority… James Comey knows this world like the back of his hand. And he delivers it with the addictive style of an expert storyteller.’ Michael Connelly‘A masterful blend of legal thriller, police procedural and psychological drama.’ Jeffery Deaver‘A gripping plot, and breathless pacing combine for a truly outstanding debut- one that announces a bold new talent in the mystery genre.’ Harlan Coben‘Truly outstanding . . . Grabs the reader from the opening scene and doesn’t let go.’ Douglas Preston‘James Comey combines his insider knowledge of every level of the justice system with a natural storytelling voice to create a winning debut. More books, please.’ Alafair Burke‘Comey’s experience as a New York City mob prosecutor brings plenty of credibility to this fast-paced legal drama.’ Reader’s Digest‘I loved this novel… It’s a smart and satisfying read that I could not recommend more highly.’ Nicolle Wallace

Additional information

Weight 0.528 kg
Dimensions 22.9 × 14.8 × 3.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership