Clutch

£7.99

It’s spring, and Aves Wood is alive with migrating birds returning to build their nests. But eggs are going missing. Could someone be stealing from the nests of the wild birds? Horrified, the birdwatching detectives set up a stakeout, patrolling the woods to protect the nesting birds and hunting down the despicable egg thief. But the Twitchers are soon caught in their own trap. Can they work together to prove their innocence and catch the real criminal before any more birds get hurt?

In stock

Description

There’s a thief in Aves Wood! M.G. Leonard, internationally bestselling author of Twitch, Beetleboy and Adventures on Trains, returns with the third gripping wildlife mystery for birdwatching detectives The Twitchers!

>> Twitch won the Sainsburys’ Children’s Book Award for Fiction 2021
>> Twitch won the CRIMEFEST Award for Best Crime Novel for Children 2021
>> “A twist-laden, thriller-like taleObserver on Twitch
>> A clarion call for environmentalists everywhere” Rob Biddulph on Spark

When the peregrine falcon nest is raided, Twitch realizes a thief is at work. Horrified, he and the Twitchers set out to catch the dangerous criminal, only to be ensnared in a deadly trap. Can they save themselves and stop the villain before anyone gets hurt?

Clutch is a thrilling spring mystery adventure about friendship, bravery and protecting nature, perfect for readers 9+ and for fans of Robin Stevens, David Baddiel and Jenny Pearson. It can be enjoyed as a stand-alone adventure or read as part of The Twitchers series.

Praise for The Twitchers:

“Leonard knows her audience and the jeopardy comes in flocks … Find your nest, curl up and enjoy.” The Times, Children’s Book of the Week on Twitch

“A twist-laden, thriller-like tale of a bird-mad boy, some bullies and an escaped convict hiding in the nearby woods.” Observer on Twitch

“A skilfully crafted mystery adventure. A clarion call for environmentalists everywhere.” Rob Biddulph, LoveReading4Kids on Spark

“A twisty crime drama as well as a persuasive story about friendship and nature.” The Sunday Times on Twitch

“Simply genius.” BBC Wildlife Magazine on Twitch

“Another pacy wonderful adventure steeped in the magic of nature and friendship.” Jasbinder Bilan on Spark

“Leonard has crafted an intelligent mystery from unlikely material, with bonus bird facts.” Irish Times on Twitch

“A winged masterpiece.” Maz Evans on Twitch

“Enthralling from beginning to end, it really touched my young bird-loving heart! Just wonderful!” Dara McAnulty on Twitch

Twitch is an absolute triumph. The perfect blend of mystery and adventure, a winning hero with an eye for ornithological facts and a heart as big as the countryside, plus a cracking whipsmart plot, I think this is M. G. Leonard’s best book yet.” Christopher Edge on Twitch

“Cracking characters, beyond pacy plotting and an ending that is almost Bugsy Malone-esque!” Phil Earle on Twitch

Additional information

Weight 0.22 kg
Dimensions 17.8 × 12.9 × 2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership