Many things under a rock

£25.00

Of all the creatures of the deep blue, none captivates us quite like the octopus. This highly intelligent master of disguise is one of our planet’s most intriguing and enigmatic creatures. Marine biologist David Scheel’s lifelong preoccupation with octopuses has led to a career of groundbreaking research, from finding previously unknown species to the discovery of signaling communication among octopuses. In ‘Many Things Under a Rock’, Scheel shares his deep scientific understanding of octopuses and recounts his intrepid adventures with these mysterious, charismatic creatures.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781529392609 Category: Tags: ,

Description

A riveting new exploration of the octopus from the world-leading scientific expert. For fans of Netflix’s ‘My Octopus Teacher’ and Other Minds.

‘Fascinating. Scheel’s unique perspective on these animals make this the deepest of octopus books.’ Peter Godfrey-Smith, author of runaway bestseller Other Minds: Octopuses and the Evolution of Intelligent Life

‘I was agog at some of his accounts. Mind-blowing and soul-expanding’ Sy Montgomery, author of The Soul of an Octopus
_________________

What is it like to be an octopus?

The octopus is a highly intelligent and deeply mysterious creature. It can change colour as quickly as it can move, ‘think’ with its tentacles and communicate in sophisticated ways.

Marine biologist David Scheel’s lifelong preoccupation with these animals has led to a career of groundbreaking research, from finding previously unknown species to the discovery of signaling communication. In Many Things Under a Rock, Scheel shares his deep scientific understanding of octopuses and recounts his intrepid adventures with these mysterious, charismatic creatures.

He investigates four major mysteries about octopuses: what can we know about such elusive and camouflaged creatures? Why are they so extraordinarily resilient? How do their bodies work? And what kind of relationships do they have? In unravelling these mysteries, Dr Scheel shows octopuses to be complex emotional beings and reveals what they can teach us about ourselves.

Additional information

Weight 0.52 kg
Dimensions 24 × 17 × 3.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition
Dewey

Readership