The English Führer

£9.99

Autumn 1945. Off the east coast of England, a Japanese sub surfaces, unloads its mysterious cargo, then blows itself to pieces. Former spy Professor Tom Wilde is enjoying peacetime in Cambridge, settling back into teaching and family life. Until a call from senior MI5 boss Lord Templeman brings him out of retirement. A nearby village has been locked down by the military, its residents blighted by a deadly illness. No one is allowed in or out. There are rumours the Nazi machine is still operational, with links to Unit 731, a notorious Japanese biological warfare research laboratory. But how could they possibly be plotting on British soil – and why? What’s more, Wilde and Templeman’s names are discovered on a Gestapo kill list. And after a series of assassinations an unthinkable question emerges: could an Englishman be behind the plot?

In stock

Description

HITLER IS DEAD. A NEW THREAT IS BORN.In the gripping new 2023 spy thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Man in the Bunker, a retired spy must uncover a deadly plot as Britain counts the cost of war. But who is the English Führer?’MASTER OF THE WARTIME SPY THRILLER’ – FINANCIAL TIMES________________Autumn 1945 – Off the east coast of England, a Japanese sub surfaces, unloads its mysterious cargo, then blows itself to pieces.Former spy Professor Tom Wilde is enjoying peacetime in Cambridge, settling back into teaching and family life. Until a call from senior MI5 boss Lord Templeman brings him out of retirement.A nearby village has been locked down by the military, its residents blighted by a deadly illness. No one is allowed in or out.There are rumours the Nazi machine is still operational, with links to Unit 731, a notorious Japanese biological warfare research laboratory. But how could they possibly be plotting on British soil – and why?What’s more, Wilde and Templeman’s names are discovered on a Gestapo kill list. And after a series of assassinations an unthinkable question emerges: could an Englishman be behind the plot?Thrilling, intelligent, and brilliantly compelling, The English Führer cements Rory’s position as the ‘master of the wartime thriller’ (FT) – perfect for readers of Robert Harris, C J Sansom, Mick Herron and Joseph Kanon.

Additional information

Weight 0.303 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership