The maiden

£9.99

Based on the real life trial and execution of Lady Nimmo in seventeenth century Edinburgh, this is a gripping, feminist debut historical novel for fans of Stacey Halls and Sara Collins.

In stock

Description

The Times Bestseller

‘A masterpiece’ – Janice Hallett, bestselling author of The Appeal

‘Exceptional – a tense, thrilling investigation, with a decidedly feminist slantDaily Mail

Inspired by a real-life murder trial, Kate Foster’s The Maiden is a remarkable story with a feminist revisionist twist, giving a voice to women otherwise silenced by history. Winner of the Bloody Scotland Pitch Perfect Award 2022 and the Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year 2023.

In the end, it did not matter what I said at my trial. No one believed me.

Edinburgh, October 1679. Lady Christian is arrested and charged with the murder of her lover, James Forrester. News of her imprisonment and subsequent trial is splashed across the broadsides, with headlines that leave little room for doubt: Adulteress. Whore. Murderess.

Only a year before, Lady Christian was newly married, leading a life of privilege and respectability. So, what led her to risk everything for an affair? And does that make her guilty of murder? She wasn’t the only woman in Forrester’s life, and certainly not the only one who might have had cause to wish him dead . . .

‘Riveting . . . the tension persists until the last page’ – The Times

Additional information

Weight 0.262 kg
Dimensions 19.7 × 13.1 × 2.7 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership