The Playground

£8.99

The only thing more unkind than children are their mothers . . . A brilliant domestic suspense that any parent will relate to, from the bestselling author of The Girlfriend.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781529049688 Category: Tag:

Description

‘Michelle Frances is an author we’re going to hear a great deal about’ JILLY COOPER

‘Brilliant (toxic) context. Loved the epistolary touches. Taut, dark, and seriously addictive.’ WILL DEAN

Looking to escape her old life, Nancy and her ten-year-old daughter Lara move to Ripton. A quiet, picturesque village in the rolling Derbyshire countryside, it seems like the perfect place to settle down.

But when Nancy reaches the school gates, she learns that beneath the quaint village atmosphere is a minefield. And after her daughter clashes with her school friends, Nancy quickly finds herself outside the whispering circle of parents.

As much as Nancy finds the playground politics absurd, they soon become impossible to ignore when Lara is accused of hurting another girl.

Desperate to clear Lara’s name, Nancy is about to learn just what lengths a parent will go to for their child . . .

Wry, twisting and suspenseful, Michelle Frances tells a story of schoolyard sniping turning into something much uglier in The Playground, for fans of Liane Moriarty and Adele Parks.

**************

PRAISE FOR THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR MICHELLE FRANCES

‘I tore through the pages . . . A high-speed chase of a novel’ Louise Candlish

‘Michelle Frances manages to bring fresh energy to this age-old theme of family secrets . . . The finale doesn’t disappoint’ Daily Mail

‘Toxic family relationships, sultry European settings and an intricate plot which leaves you never knowing who to trust’ Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet

Additional information

Weight 0.322 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 3.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership